2024 Co-Host

Joyce Kulhawik

Emmy Award-Winning Journalist

Joyce Kulhawik, best known as the Emmy Award-winning Arts & Entertainment Anchor for CBS-Boston (WBZ-TV1981-2008), has covered local and national events from Boston and Broadway
to Hollywood, including the Oscars, Emmys, Tonys, and Grammys. As the first arts reporter/critic in the U.S. to appear every weeknight as part of a local TV news team, Kulhawik gave journalistic stature to arts reporting and greatly enhanced her station’s commitment to community service.

Kulhawik is currently President of The Boston Theater Critics Association, a member of the Boston Society of Film Critics, and has hosted nationally syndicated movie review programs with Roger Ebert and Leonard Maltin.  Joyce can be heard on Boston’s Local NPR station GBH radio (89.7) THE CULTURE SHOW. Find her reviews online at JoycesChoices.com.

A 3x cancer survivor, Kulhawik testified before Congress on the 20th  anniversary of The National Cancer Act, chaired Massachusetts spring fundraising campaign for 25 years, and helped launch the American Cancer Society’s first “Hope Lodge” in Boston which provides free lodging for cancer patients and their families. The ACS honored Kulhawik with its National Bronze Medal for her work. Joyce has been honored with citations from both the State House of Representatives and The Boston City Council for her broadcasting career and raising awareness in the fight against cancer.

The recipient of countless awards for her career and advocacy, Kulhawik holds an Honorary Doctorate in Communications from her alma mater Simmons University and has an endowed scholarship in her name at the Berklee College of Music. In 2007, Kulhawik was among the inaugural inductees into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame. In 2010 Kulhawik received the New England Emmys Governor’s Award for her distinguished career, which includes additional Emmys for the WBZ series/campaign “You Gotta Have Arts!” and team coverage of the World Trade Center attacks, where she was among the first reporters on the scene.